Green Springs Plantation was built in 1772 in Gordonsville, Virginia by Captain Richard Morris (c.1740-1821). He developed 1,746 acres of very fertile land by the mineral springs that gave the property its name.
Col. Morris was the Commissary for the Virginia Troops during the Revolutionary War and during this time his good friend Patrick Henry would frequent the property. His eldest son, Dr. James Maury Morris, inherited the home and property, and when Dr. Morris died in 1844, the home passed on to his son, William. The house was sold in 1877 after William was killed in battle during the Civil War. Green Springs Plantation has changed owners several time over the decades, but the integrity of Col. Morris home has remained constant.
The Green Springs National Historic Landmark District contains 14,000 acres of fertile agricultural land and more than 250 original eighteenth and nineteenth century homes, barns and other outbuildings. Bounded by Route 15 and Route 22 in the western end of the county, the area is six and one-half miles long, four and one-half miles wide. There was an early Quaker settlement in the 1720's on Camp Creek. Soon after, several families moved up from Hanover county, established major farms, and, over succeeding generations, intermarried, adding farmhouses and manors through the mid-1860's. A drive through Green Springs today reveals pastoral vistas and "an assemblage of rural architecture that is unique in Virginia," according to the Virginia Landmarks Commission.